Eyes squeezed tightly shut

I shuffle out into the darkness taking tentative baby steps listening to the hog snoring in some dank and dusty corner. My ears straining to hear a little tinkling chime. I’m trying to avoid standing on a squeaky finger bone. If I do that the hog’s going to get me.

What am I doing?

Why playing Papa Sangre on my iPhone of course.

Papa Sangre is an audio only game that’s just hit the app store at http://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/papa-sangre/id407536885?mt=8
It’s £3.99 and definitely worth checking out.


The game has been tested by the RNIB and is certainly a massive leap into unchartered new waters. It says it’s fully accessible which isn’t quite true as deaf people won’t be able to play it but that makes me feel like Scrooge and I almost feel like I shouldn’t say it. It is of course fantastic that a game even mentions the RNIB and the words ‘accessible’ so I think we can overlook the slight exaggeration.

Especially as it can’t of been easy to create this as this quote from their website (http://www.papasangre.com/) points out. “Papa Sangre is a video game with no video. It’s a first-person thriller, done entirely in audio by an award-winning team of game designers, musicians, sound designers and developers. We’ve created an entire world using the first ever real-time 3D audio engine implemented on a handheld device. Which was BLOODY HARD.”

You walk through the levels using your thumbs to touch each side if the screen and swipe the top to move left or right and then that’s you shuffling off towards the sound.


I’ve only done the first couple of levels so very interested to see where this one is headed.

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPhone

About assistivetechno

Bruce Darby - Assistive Technology Advisor at the University of Edinburgh
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

