Preparing a last minute presentation

Had to prepare a presentation for 11 this morning and while I pretty much knew what I was going to speak about I thought it would be nice to have a proper structure in place to keep me on track.

So on the bus this morning I put together what I wanted to say using the iPhone mindmapping software from MindJet. Pretty straight forward. Fairly easy to use. And I really like this approach of using the software itself to create a help section. There is a help mindmap that is very easy to follow to find out what to do. Same idea in Pages and Keynote by the way – the first document/presentation that opens is the one that tells you how to use the program. Very good idea.

Not a huge mindmapper but I do like the functionality if you’ve been putting a piece of written work off or you need to focus and get something done right away.

Once I was in work it was onto Keynote on the iPad and as this was the first time using the program it was really good that it was so easy to use. Had to check the help file a couple of times but on the whole the presentation was finished in plenty of time and everyone was suitably impressed. The thing that I like is that I have absolutely no design skills so I need to be lead by the hand and at the same time need something a little less cheesy than some Powerpoint presentations can look like. Too common and too boring. Objects are easy to line up using a finger. There is no complicated interface so it takes seconds to pick up and use. Perfect.

About assistivetechno

Bruce Darby - Assistive Technology Advisor at the University of Edinburgh
This entry was posted in apps and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

